Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 7:05pm - #73804 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
holy s* help mee now!

shit man i was doing my neons and went to starrt the car to see if theyworked and holy shit no fucking led screen or power to the radio what the shit happened somebody help me i put the wire into the fuse labeled 15 and thats it i did whwat i was suppose to do i hope and shit now power help my parents will kill me they cosigned the car and dont want me doing a thing to it!
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Johnny178
Member
Johnny178 Dec 27, 7:08pm - #73805 

Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Charlotte, NC
did you use a fuse tap or just put your bare wires into th fuse socket?
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
AM03GT
Member
AM03GT Dec 27, 7:11pm - #73806 
Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
Los Angeles
have you tried removing the wires from the neon to see if it will come up regularly? ... if it does, then you simply plugged in the neons to the wrong fue, or it was loose or something else...

also, from the sound of it you plugged a whole neon system (underbody?) to a 15 amp fuse, that hardly sounds like enough power for the gauges etc... AND the neons...

[Linked Image]
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 7:13pm - #73807 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
k took it out and still didnt work dont tell me i shocked my ecu and shit im screwed ...they are foot well i just put the wire into the fues help me
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,408
CelicaRacer05
Specialist
CelicaRacer05 Dec 27, 7:18pm - #73808 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,408
Englewood, CO
check the fuses, the 15 might have blown as it did when i reinstalled my headunit, and a bare wire touched metal, also check your common fuse, its the 7.5 amp, if you had a large surge, that might have blown also (as it did in my case) but after swaping them out, the stero works great again...
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 7:22pm - #73809 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
k nothing is fucking working and my dad is catching on so i figure i would go to my friends house to avoid confronatation and behold i cant move the shifter from park to anything help my ass!
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,239
xrage4200
Specialist
xrage4200 Dec 27, 7:31pm - #73810 

Specialist
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,239
Michigan
hey, that happen to me when i install my neons. Same thing happen. What you do is take out every fuse out there and check out which one is burnt. and put a new one back in. CHECK EVERY FUSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[Linked Image]
CAR IN CONSTRUCTION
COMING SOON-Rod millen front lip,Veilside sides,TRD wing,X1 fenders and a drop. Pics be up in March...LONG wait..hehe
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 673
XxMerlinxX
Senior Member
XxMerlinxX Dec 27, 7:39pm - #73811 
2000 Silver Toyota Celica
Senior Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 673
Hartsville/Greenwood, SC
Ok, lemme see if I know what's going on here. Nothing with a lightbulb is coming on and the shifter is locked? If this is true, first you need to calm down. You blew one of your fuses. It's really simple and is not a problem as long as you keep your dad off your back so you don't get in any trouble. If you look in the fuse box, there are extra fuses that you can use. Locate the fuse that is burnt and replace it with another one.

[Linked Image]
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Johnny178
Member
Johnny178 Dec 27, 8:02pm - #73812 

Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Charlotte, NC
there is a manual release, take off the cover and you can shift to Drive or R.
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 8:50pm - #73813 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
Aight! It was a fuse, it just wasnt the fuse that my lights were plugged into. Which fuse should i go to, if i am connecting 2 10 inch neons.
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 673
XxMerlinxX
Senior Member
XxMerlinxX Dec 27, 9:41pm - #73814 
2000 Silver Toyota Celica
Senior Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 673
Hartsville/Greenwood, SC
I wouldn't connect it to a fuse at all. Shouldn't he be able to tap it into the cigarette lighter?

[Linked Image]
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Johnny178
Member
Johnny178 Dec 27, 9:43pm - #73815 

Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Charlotte, NC
yeap, i woudnt mess with the fuses...find some other sources.
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 11:19pm - #73816 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
well i jsut put them in my friends civic everything went perfectly going back after my car tommorrow once i find out which fuse to use! thumbsup
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Johnny178
Member
Johnny178 Dec 27, 11:21pm - #73817 

Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 314
Charlotte, NC
have fun, dont blow it up. (or tell dad smile)
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 11:26pm - #73818 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
yeh i know im 21 in college so i dont need anymore expenses than my car and insurance i wont blow it again until im 100% positive on what fuse...ken karrion helped me with the first set and he has underbody plus gauges and iter. lights all in his fuse box. so i dont know how i blew one
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 27, 11:28pm - #73819 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
he might have a higher amp fuse
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 27, 11:30pm - #73820 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
is there a difference in the fuse boxes? i have an 03 he has an 01 i think... or are you talking about the fuse itself? if so than im running it to a higher fuse next time
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 27, 11:35pm - #73821 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
the fuse it's self
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 28, 12:02am - #73822 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
hey when you ad a fuse adapter for neons how much power...do you get one with two tens or two fives in it...how much powewr do the neons give off anyway?
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 28, 12:10am - #73823 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
not real shure, in my old car, it had a 15 stock, but i had fog light, 2 15" neons, radio bar neon, and that auto rope light stuff all running on a 25 amp, and it works fine

but it also may be because you hit another wire too and thats why it blew, not because of the fuse
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 28, 12:13am - #73824 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
you had them all going into the one fuse or did you use the ad on fuse adapter? i just used any old nut t o ground my bodies neons thats fine right? or do you have to be specific on where to ground them?
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 28, 12:24am - #73825 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
no the nut thing is fine

what i did is splice the wire going into my cig and use power from there, but as i i added more stuff the fuse blew because it was drawing to much power so iswapped for a higher fuse and it worked fine
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 28, 12:32am - #73826 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
k got yah on both the neons and the foot pedal you helped me out alot...last question for the night and im out of here...so the fuse bleww and you added one with more power like 15 to 25 and this was alright ...my buddy told me that if you put a 25 in place of a 15 it would cause problems but im guess since you have the neons and stuf in there that it equals out...kind get what im asking.
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 28, 12:42am - #73827 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
yeah, if you were to to just swap a 15 to a 25 it wouldn't be good, could cause damage to stuff, unless you have enough electronics to hold it

since you just have two neons i would suggest a 200 amp fuse, that should do it
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 28, 1:12am - #73828 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
200 amp fuse? which is which one
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 28, 1:30am - #73829 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
lol

sorry i meant 20
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 242
hybridcelica
Member
hybridcelica Dec 28, 3:46pm - #73830 
2000 silver/blue Toyota Celica
Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 242
virgin islands
Originally Posted by XxMerlinxX
I wouldn't connect it to a fuse at all. Shouldn't he be able to tap it into the cigarette lighter?
the cig lighter is on a fuse as well!

HYBRID:resulting from the combination of two or more mechanically dissimilar origins!
"...... code":every man is a shadow,let him be treated as such,until proven otherwise by a show of character or code!
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 242
hybridcelica
Member
hybridcelica Dec 28, 4:01pm - #73831 
2000 silver/blue Toyota Celica
Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 242
virgin islands
the best way to add anything electrical(neons,fogs,anything that draws excessive current to and existing factory electrical system)is to do it with an external relay! you can tap power from a source like the lights,but the source is only to provide the relay with a very small amt of power to turn it on!the actual high current output to power your lights etc.will be coming directly from the battery with the correct fuse rating!if you dont know how much amps the wires that you are "TAPPING" your power from can handle,do not drastically change the fuse rating!the wire will eventually heat up and burn over time!hi amperage cause shit to burn and if the fuse is too big it wont blow as fast,the fuses supplied with aftermarket lights,fogs,amps etc.is for the protection of the product,but "MOST IMPORTANTLY FOR THE PROTECTION OF YOUR CARS ELECTRICAL SYSTEM!!"

HYBRID:resulting from the combination of two or more mechanically dissimilar origins!
"...... code":every man is a shadow,let him be treated as such,until proven otherwise by a show of character or code!
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 30, 2:39am - #73832 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
Originally Posted by hybridcelica
the best way to add anything electrical(neons,fogs,anything that draws excessive current to and existing factory electrical system)is to do it with an external relay! you can tap power from a source like the lights,but the source is only to provide the relay with a very small amt of power to turn it on!the actual high current output to power your lights etc.will be coming directly from the battery with the correct fuse rating!if you dont know how much amps the wires that you are "TAPPING" your power from can handle,do not drastically change the fuse rating!the wire will eventually heat up and burn over time!hi amperage cause shit to burn and if the fuse is too big it wont blow as fast,the fuses supplied with aftermarket lights,fogs,amps etc.is for the protection of the product,but "MOST IMPORTANTLY FOR THE PROTECTION OF YOUR CARS ELECTRICAL SYSTEM!!"


this is very true, but for something small it shouldn't hurt much, if he were doing something like full underbody kit or foglights, it would be different
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 30, 2:43am - #73833 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
Originally Posted by hybridcelica
Originally Posted by XxMerlinxX
I wouldn't connect it to a fuse at all. Shouldn't he be able to tap it into the cigarette lighter?
the cig lighter is on a fuse as well!


i think he meant to leave the actual fuse alone and tap into the wire going to the cig.

because, it's the only thing on that fuse, so you don't have to worry about messing something up, and so you don't clutter up ur fuse box
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
celica2nv
Senior Member
celica2nv Dec 30, 4:52am - #73834 

Senior Member
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 400
Southern New Jersey
i did mean the cig fuse...by the way i used the 25 fuse right next to it its the am1 fuse you think that will be alright?
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Celicaracer18
Senior Member
Celicaracer18 Dec 31, 1:36am - #73835 

Senior Member
1995 Toyota Celica ST

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 660
Meridian, MS
it should be

and if your not sure, you can always add a fuse in the power line of any accessory so every thing has it's own fuse according to it's capacity. i think you cab getem at radio shack for a few bucks
Join the conversation - Register now or Sign in to add your comment


Moderated by  isaac 

Customize Your Toyota CelicaPrivacy Policy · About · Contact
CelicaHobby.com is an independent Toyota Celica enthusiast website. CelicaHobby.com is not sponsored by or affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. in any way. The Toyota and Celica names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
© CelicaHobby.com, 2001-2016