Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread

#5477 Sep 19, 3:11pm
ok i was wondering, cause i have read a lot of posts on here and i have come to some type of thoery, but i don't know it will work, i know a decent bit about cars, but i may not know this.
Ok here goes, i have heard that if you put forced induction on a gts in the last posts that it would cause your engine to wear down quite a bit cause the gts has lots of compression, but if i'm not mistaking wouldn't buying alternative pistons, with a lower compression ratio be the cure for this, i mean i don't know i am not a rocket scientist or anything, i was just curious.
ohh , and i am new here, this is my first post? and if someone has already asked this question i'm sorry i must have missed it. confused

I will own one in the future, wating for the 2003 this october-november!

ok maybe i didn't word this right, but hopefully you know what i mean, ohh well, i guess what i am really tryin to say is when i get the gts and put a turbo kit on it, how badly would i wear the engine out? this is for a 2003 celica, (that one day when a turbo is made for it)or whatever, i don't know

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Hey, Yes you do officialy qualify for a rocket scientist with that theory, but ill break down the problems with it and the idea of a turbo.

--first off it is completely possible to turbo the gts. it has been done by XS engineering. currently it is a shop installed kit only by them.
you are absoluetly right about the compression issue but there are no aftermarket pictons available to lower it, however there are alternative solutions installing a thicker and stronger headgaskets will lower the compression to a more turbo friendly level. currently the XS kit runs 7.5 pounds of boost. this low boost is completly possible in a high comression engine as long as you have a good boost contorller and wastegate to tune the boost to a reliable 7.5 (boost spike are bad)