Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread

Hi Guys, my first post on here so I'm a newbie to this forum.
I've just bought a pair of welcome door projector LED's, for my U.K registered Celica, the doors don't have any kind of lighting on them at the moment that lights up when the doors open & was wondering where do I get the feed from so that the lights light up when the courtesy light comes on ?, I'm pretty good with electrics & not started to take a look yet, but wanted the info so I can be sure to finish the job without delays, any help really appreciated, cheers, Tony

2002 Toyota Celica GT-S
2002 Toyota Celica GT-S
I would probably wire it to the dome light (after the switch if possible) that way you can control whether it comes on or not when you open the door and so it isn't on after you shut the door.

By 'Dome light' do you mean the courtesy light between. The visors ? If so that was my plan, but do the wires run into the passenger & drivers side kick panels where I can take a feed for them into the doors ? Cheers Tony

2002 Toyota Celica GT-S
2002 Toyota Celica GT-S
From what I've researched, you can run your positive wire through the fuse for the dome (or courtesy) light to each of your doors, but you will have to run the negative wire from the switch of the courtesy light to make sure the lights shut off when they are supposed to. I'll leave a link to the thread where I found the information, but they recommend you replace the light between the sun visors with an LED before adding any more lights. http://www.newcelica.org/forums/showthread.php?t=319504

Hope this helps
~Mike

Cheers Mike, so my understanding of this is that the gradual dimming of the Dome light is controlled through the ground wire rather than the live feed ? Is that correct ? Cheers Tony

Last edited by Jinxy1965; Sep 13, 2017 12:05am.

2002 Toyota Celica GT-S
2002 Toyota Celica GT-S