Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread

Hey guys, complete wiring newbie here.
To try and keep this simple I'm trying to figure out if I can install a second-hand 2din dnx5120 HU with gps without cutting in to my factory harnesses(if that's even possible). My main goal is to keep the factory amp(don't mind bypassing if it's the only route possible) and factory speakers since they seem to do their job quite well with the factory HU atleast... I'm all about keeping it as clean as possible incase I suddenly need to switch back to my factory HU.

Basically all I know is behind my factory HU is 1 white plug and 2 weird rca-aux hybrid-like looking plugs. And behind the glove box is our 00-02 rage-inducing amp..haven't looked back there myself yet but I hear that there's a big plug(biggest of 3?) back there which is what I THINK is my speaker harness. From what I heard this is the plug I need a harness plug adapter to bypass the amp without cutting into factory harnesses.

I've read through comments and threads and heard there's a Isuzu rodeo harness that may plug and play to my speaker harness which I could then fish the other end back up to my HU mount area and wire that straight in to the dnx5120's 22 pin power plug harness to utilize the HU's built in amp. Does that sound like it would work or make sense? And what/where and what year is this Isuzu rodeo harness and plug adapter from?!? Is the Scosche TA(I could be mistaken here) series I've read about on the forums a similar mod?

Amp related: what are these ressistors and filter-things I've read about on the forums for the amp so speakers and tweeters(I think) keep their quality. I believes it's related high output aftermarket HUs produce? I'll try to link the thread or find what they're called if nobody knows/remembers.