Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 517
verano
Boba Juice!
verano Sep 3, 10:11pm - #41985 

Boba Juice!
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 517
Anaheim, CA
Help on Alpine Unit...

I just got my new Head Unit Alpine CDA9815 and need to know about this..

"Important Note: The powerful output of Alpine's V-Drive internal amplifier REQUIRES a direct fused connection to your vehicle's battery!

WARNING: WITHOUT THE "10-gauge amp wiring kit" YOU WILL BLOW OUT THE SYSTEM!!! "

I already got the wiring harness (METRA 70-1761) for it. Do i really have to get that wire and directly connect it to the battery or the harness is just fine and just put a FUSE on it?

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,043
trog2233
ECelica Staff
trog2233 Sep 3, 10:20pm - #41986 

ECelica Staff
2004 GMC Canyon Z-71

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,043
Williamsport, PA
Nooo...u don't have to run it straight to the battery...u can hook it up just to the harness...u just get more power if you do it that way...but otherwise...u will be fine thumbsup
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,451
DiabloGTS
Wheezy Joe
DiabloGTS Sep 3, 10:37pm - #41987 

Wheezy Joe
2002 Kawasaki Ninja 250

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,451
Lafayette, LA
the stock wiring can handle it, but if you use the battery hook up, you will get more power out of the system.

To have played and laughed with enthusiasm
and sung with exultation
To know even one life has breathed easier
This is to have succeeded.
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 524
celica2kgts
Senior Member
celica2kgts Sep 3, 11:00pm - #41988 
2000 Viper Red W/ Purple Toyota Celica
Senior Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 524
New Hampshire
i'd run the wire why i have had this problem before on my eclipse and alpine head unit then i add the wire and bing never shitd the bed after that!
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 54
TIM3PORT
Member
TIM3PORT Sep 4, 1:21am - #41989 
2000 RED/WHITE Toyota Celica GT
Member
2000 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 54
5 minutes from Manhattan
Originally Posted by trog2233
Nooo...u don't have to run it straight to the battery...u can hook it up just to the harness...u just get more power if you do it that way...but otherwise...u will be fine thumbsup


WRONG.


you do need to run it to the battery.

the stock wiring will handle for a few months and then it will start dimming your head lights.

the alpine Vdrive is a high powered amp unline regular headunits.

you can also kill your head unit by not following directions.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 431
ssgsky
Senior Member
ssgsky Sep 4, 2:05am - #41990 

Senior Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 431
fort hood texas
so alpine has found a way to produce high power in a head unit, that has no heatsink, and needs a 10 gage power wire now ? how many watts is this unit rated at ?

10.7157 @ 131.31 on my bike
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 431
ssgsky
Senior Member
ssgsky Sep 4, 2:12am - #41991 

Senior Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 431
fort hood texas
well, if it is an unregulated power supply like the v14.4 series, it could be true. but 10 gage for 240 watts, and what is the distortion at that 240 watts ?

10.7157 @ 131.31 on my bike
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
codealiasJD
Member
codealiasJD Sep 4, 9:01am - #41992 
2002 Spectra Mica Blue Toyota 5 SpeedCelica
Member
2002 Toyota 5 SpeedCelica

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 184
BC, Canada
yup. you could seriously fuck up your deck. you may also get some notice some feedback if you don't hook it up ie. high pitched sound that gets louder as you accelerate.


Originally Posted by TIM3PORT
Originally Posted by trog2233
Nooo...u don't have to run it straight to the battery...u can hook it up just to the harness...u just get more power if you do it that way...but otherwise...u will be fine thumbsup


WRONG.


you do need to run it to the battery.

the stock wiring will handle for a few months and then it will start dimming your head lights.

the alpine Vdrive is a high powered amp unline regular headunits.

you can also kill your head unit by not following directions.

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,451
DiabloGTS
Wheezy Joe
DiabloGTS Sep 4, 1:19pm - #41993 

Wheezy Joe
2002 Kawasaki Ninja 250

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,451
Lafayette, LA
I have a VDrive unit (CDA-7894) and the GTS doesn't need the cable.

mines been in for 7-8 months and not a hitch since. the wiring can handle 10 amps.

just make sure you don't plug in your bypassed factory amp in the GTS, thanks darcars toyota for the blown fuses!

To have played and laughed with enthusiasm
and sung with exultation
To know even one life has breathed easier
This is to have succeeded.
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 517
verano
Boba Juice!
verano Sep 4, 8:55pm - #41994 

Boba Juice!
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 517
Anaheim, CA
Originally Posted by DiabloGTS
I have a VDrive unit (CDA-7894) and the GTS doesn't need the cable.
!


i have a GT, standard head unit.

so what should i really do, TIM said run a wire directly to the battery, and the rest said the wiring harness is OK...

need more input on this...thanks
Join the conversation - Register now or Sign in to add your comment


Moderated by  isaac 

Customize Your Toyota CelicaPrivacy Policy · About · Contact
CelicaHobby.com is an independent Toyota Celica enthusiast website. CelicaHobby.com is not sponsored by or affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. in any way. The Toyota and Celica names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
© CelicaHobby.com, 2001-2016