Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 9
Accelica
New Member
Accelica Oct 27, 3:50am - #310677 
1992 Black Toyota Celica GT
New Member
1992 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 9
Indiana, United States
3S-GTE Engine SWAP

I am very serious about getting ordering a 3S-GTE from www.totaljdm.com. I am ordering the 3S-GTEC the one that comes with the celica(duh). I am putting it into a 92 Celica GT. The only issue that I am worried about is the wiring harness. (I have put one engine into a car which was a 95 Neon.) I am pretty confident I can do the mechanical stuff as long as the engine mounts fit. Here are my questions:

Do you use the engine mounts off of the 5S-FE or the mounts off of the 3S-GTE?

How difficult is the wiring harness to rewire, and why does it not plug directly into the ecu?

Is it possible to run the wiring harness through the firewall like the old one?

If those options do not work, and since I do not have a front clip to look at to rewire it myself. Where is it possible to have this done. Or is it just general knowledge to do it myself?

Okay **TRANSMISSION QUESTIONS**

Will the 5S-FE's Transmission hold up if you get a new clutch/flywheel(fidanza/centerforce)

If not what do you suggest?

I've heard that the Camry V6 Tranny and the Solara Tranny both will work. But are they compatible with the equipment in the car? The stickshift, clutch etc?

and is this possible with about 3,000$?

Will I also have to buy a bunch of sensors or should they come with the engine?
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 64
Tommy91GT
Member
Tommy91GT Oct 27, 6:28am - #310678 
1991 Pearl Red Toyota Celica GT
Member
1991 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 64
Tennessee
1: Mounts are the same for a 5s and 3s (direct replacement) grin
2: Wiring harness for 5s won't work because the plug-in are located in different areas shocked
3: 5s ECU does not understand boost!!! slap
4: Both harness' go thru FW smile
4: Camry/Solara V6 Tranny is also a direct bolt up. You can also use the tranny from an MR2 which has LSD thumbsup But you have to flip the sync I think.

Your best bet is just to purchase a clip so you have ALL the parts you need (like gauge cluster, clips, bolts,etc). Them when your done you can sell off the extra stuff and get some cash back spineyes
If not make sure you get an engine that comes with an UNCUT harness and ECU. If not then you are going to have to shell extra cash for them eek . Most should come with both, but a lot of times the harness is cut.
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 369
sakara
GT4
sakara Oct 27, 7:46am - #310679 

GT4
1990 Toyota Alltrac

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 369
pa
yea...lol, what he said...sry, wasn't sure bout those mounts earlier tongue glad he got that info for ya grin if you buy a front clip...that comes with everything you need...u can usually find one for abt $1500 bux..so it's not too bad, then you can use the extra cash for whatever...also, make SURE you get an all trac Hood, or a front mount innercooler..lol, if not ur turbo wont be able to cool down, and u'll blow up, lol. but since the engine already has a top mount, just get the all trac Hood, which is another reason to get the clip. one last thing that i can think of right now...first thing you should buy is a turbo timer...u can't just shut off a turbo engine...it has to have time to cool down. sooo, you either have to sit there with ur car on for 5-20 mins or so, depending on how long u've been driving, oooor, you get a turbo timer and it allows the car to idle, even after you shut the car off, for an amount of time to let the enging cool down. let us know if we can help n e more at all ^__^ gl with ur swap thumbsup u'll be doin this soon to all the ricers... wave wave wave hehehehehe grin

-Ash

90 all trac 98k miles... *To be resurrected...*
Gives new meaning to "It looks fast"...It IS fast
'90 rolla "Lunchbox on wheels" 167k strong!
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 9
Accelica
New Member
Accelica Oct 27, 5:48pm - #310680 
1992 Black Toyota Celica GT
New Member
1992 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 9
Indiana, United States
Shit, nice car. I live in Madison Indiana which probably isn't too far from you.

I have a couple more questions.

If the harness is uncut can I run it straight through the firewall to the ecu without a problem?

What do you mean by flip the sync on the MR2 Tranny? Is it possible to use the MR2 Tranny as a FWD? And will the halfshafts work?

If I use the Camry transmission will it require any modifications? I currently have a 5 Speed tranny, is there even a 5 speed tranny for the camry?

Is it possible if I have a uncut harness to get around rewiring it?

Have you done the swap?

If so, will I need new sensors and shit?

Right now I am going to buy a new clutch, flywheel. But I'm really not sure what else I will need.
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 165
bloodredgt
Member
bloodredgt Oct 27, 11:09pm - #310681 

Member
1991 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 165
Southern California
you should log onto www.celica.net and check out forced induction. There's a lot of 5th gen guys over there who have done the 3sgte swap. They can help you out A LOT.

[Linked Image]

Red Celica GT 5-spd
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 64
Tommy91GT
Member
Tommy91GT Oct 28, 7:29am - #310682 
1991 Pearl Red Toyota Celica GT
Member
1991 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 64
Tennessee
1- Thanks
2- yes the harness will go through the firewall and link up no prob.
3- Its not the sync its the fork, follow this link for a DYI of a mr2 tranny. It lists everything you need, and what to do http://celica.net/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=40;t=000028
4- Camry tranny (yes thre are 5 spd Cams) is a direct bolt up.
5- The plug ins on a 3s are in different locations than the 5s. The 3s harness while sit in the stock location, but the plugs will be in the correct location and correct length.
6- I've assisted in the swap on both a Celica and a MR2 (both with 5s), plus swapped 6-7 hondas. I am currently in the process of building a 3s for my car. I am taking my time with it cos I want 400+ whp when I drop it in. Don't want to have to pull it out again. This takes time and money. Will you need new sensors? Not sure. I did both 3s swaps with clips so we had all the parts there. But remember, the engine you are about to drop in is 10+ years old, you don't know how hard the engine was run prior to you buying it, or the maintainence record on it. With that in mind, it is better to replace the cheap stuff before you put it in then have to deal with it afterwards. Engines are so much easier to work on on a stand than in the compartment. First think you should do is follow this link (like blood said thumbsup) and read it ALL!!! http://celica.net/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=37;t=001324 Then if you have questions post them on Celica.net in the FI forum. Most of them know what they are talking about if they are quick to call BS if they see it. You don't just want to jump into a swap until you know exactly what you are getting into. Done right you can have the car running like a demon in 3 days after the install, done wrong your car could be down for over a month while you try to figure out whats wrong.
Join the conversation - Register now or Sign in to add your comment


Moderated by  isaac 

Customize Your Toyota CelicaPrivacy Policy · About · Contact
CelicaHobby.com is an independent Toyota Celica enthusiast website. CelicaHobby.com is not sponsored by or affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. in any way. The Toyota and Celica names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
© CelicaHobby.com, 2001-2016