Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
johnsm
Member
johnsm Sep 7, 6:18am - #268628 

Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
WA, Seattle
Amp wire.

Hi guys.
Can I get detail guide how to wire amp wire from battery to trunk?
Maybe some pic`s?
Thanks allot.
Im noob.
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Brian63
Member
Brian63 Sep 7, 9:38pm - #268629 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Macomb IL
Its not exactly hard. You run the power wire from the positive battery terminal to the positive power input on the amp and ground the amp to the chasis. Dont forget the fuse right off the battery terminal. Nothing real complex. If your using an extra battery let me know. If you can't find a hole in the firewall...drill one.
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 167
ASheva10
Member
ASheva10 Sep 7, 11:58pm - #268630 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 167
Gaithersburg, Maryland
I think that what he is asking for is a good place to run it, since there are not really any holes that you can run the wire through.
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 655
00celica00gt
Senior Member
00celica00gt Sep 8, 3:06am - #268631 

Senior Member
2000 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 655
Philadelphia, PA
I found it easy to drill the hole through the firewall on the passenger side. And i ran the wire a long the passenger side of the car. Under the door panel on the floor and behind the rear speaker panel and then right on through into the trunk. The hardest part is just drilling the hole and getting the wire through. The rest is cake.

[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 8, 4:54am - #268632 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
No need to drill holes in the firewall. If you are running an amp wire to the trunk, run it from the battery & follow the brake lines to the back. Use rasptites & then run it through the rubber plug in the bottom of the trunk. Just cut a small slit in it & push it through.
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
johnsm
Member
johnsm Sep 8, 5:34am - #268633 

Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
WA, Seattle
Thanks Jason.
I`ll be doing it this weekends.

If i get stuck ill holla.

[Linked Image]
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Brian63
Member
Brian63 Sep 8, 5:56pm - #268634 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Macomb IL
But there is no harm drilling a hole through the firewall. And is there enough space to run 4 awg wire with the break lines.
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,034
Mp3Supply
Specialist
Mp3Supply Sep 8, 6:39pm - #268635 

Specialist
2002 Toyota Celica

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,034
Pennsylviana
Originally Posted by Haulin_A_Doo
No need to drill holes in the firewall. If you are running an amp wire to the trunk, run it from the battery & follow the brake lines to the back. Use rasptites & then run it through the rubber plug in the bottom of the trunk. Just cut a small slit in it & push it through.


so ur suggesting that he run an electrical wire along the outside of the car? just making sure that is what you mean, cause that is where the break lines go. . . wtf

[Linked Image]


Work like you really dont need the money
Love like you have never been hurt before
Dance like no one is watching. . .

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 8, 7:18pm - #268636 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Originally Posted by Mp3Supply
Originally Posted by Haulin_A_Doo
No need to drill holes in the firewall. If you are running an amp wire to the trunk, run it from the battery & follow the brake lines to the back. Use rasptites & then run it through the rubber plug in the bottom of the trunk. Just cut a small slit in it & push it through.


so ur suggesting that he run an electrical wire along the outside of the car? just making sure that is what you mean, cause that is where the break lines go. . . wtf


Yeppers. I did that with my power wire. thumbsup
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,672
ragingpaseo
Specialist
ragingpaseo Sep 8, 8:56pm - #268637 
2003 blue Toyota Celica
Specialist
2003 Toyota Celica

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,672
towson, md
^i have never heard of anybody installed their power cable like that before... spineyes
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
johnsm
Member
johnsm Sep 8, 9:08pm - #268638 

Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
WA, Seattle
Originally Posted by Haulin_A_Doo

Originally Posted by Mp3Supply

[quote=Haulin_A_Doo]
No need to drill holes in the firewall. If you are running an amp wire to the trunk, run it from the battery & follow the brake lines to the back. Use rasptites & then run it through the rubber plug in the bottom of the trunk. Just cut a small slit in it & push it through.


so ur suggesting that he run an electrical wire along the outside of the car? just making sure that is what you mean, cause that is where the break lines go. . . wtf


You run it under the car?


[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 8, 9:26pm - #268639 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Originally Posted by johnsm
Originally Posted by Haulin_A_Doo
Originally Posted by Mp3Supply
[quote=Haulin_A_Doo]No need to drill holes in the firewall. If you are running an amp wire to the trunk, run it from the battery & follow the brake lines to the back. Use rasptites & then run it through the rubber plug in the bottom of the trunk. Just cut a small slit in it & push it through.


so ur suggesting that he run an electrical wire along the outside of the car? just making sure that is what you mean, cause that is where the break lines go. . . wtf


You run it under the car?


Yah, just go from the battery to the trunk under the car following the brake lines. I found it easy. You don't want to run your power wires along side of your preamp wires, it will create interance.

Preamp wires - the new twisted pair preamp wires are the best thing next to fibre optics. thumbsup They work the same as Cat 5 cable, the twisting creates a field around the wire that reduces interference. thumbsup
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
johnsm
Member
johnsm Sep 9, 2:13am - #268640 

Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
WA, Seattle
How can I tell if my GT has amp?
And I also would like to change all speaker wires.

[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 9, 2:49am - #268641 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
GT does not have an amp.
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,003
Sancho
SD Syndicate
Sancho Sep 9, 4:20am - #268642 

SD Syndicate
2004 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,003
San Diego, CA
Originally Posted by Haulin_A_Doo
GT does not have an amp.


I thought all cars have amps. The headunit is not powerful enough to run the speakers. confused

[Linked Image]
2004 Toyota Celica GT
***Blue Batmobile sponsored vehicle***

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 753
xxmonkeyboixx
Senior Member
xxmonkeyboixx Sep 9, 8:15am - #268643 

Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 753
OC KALI, USA
buy the whole amp kit...pretty easy hard part is hiding the wires and drilling through the firewall

[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 9, 6:16pm - #268644 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Head units can be quite powerful, however the GT is not & does not have an amp. Get a wiring harness converter, and aftermarket deck & see how you like the sound. Its pretty easy to hook up. thumbsup

I put in a Sony M770, used the power output from the deck highpassed at 200HZ to the stock speakers in my GT. That cuts the bass out of them & allows them to handle a lot more power with clarity. I then hooked up an amp & a couple of 12" subs & it sounds great. The stock speakers are good quality. thumbsup

Linked Image
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Brian63
Member
Brian63 Sep 9, 6:59pm - #268645 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Macomb IL
Exposing your power wire to the elements under the car is a bad idea. The plastic coating will wear away and you will start to get shorts. running power wire under the car is always a bad idea.
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 9, 8:14pm - #268646 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
That's what the coating is there for. Mine has been there since 2001 in the snow & salt & all those miles & it still works fine. thumbsup
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
AZZKIKR
SHO - NUFF
AZZKIKR Sep 9, 8:28pm - #268647 

SHO - NUFF
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
ATL GA
I try to stay away from stereo installations...my biggest problem is that 1. I have no experience, and 2. I never figured out how to wire it to the positive part of the battery...I'd be more than happy to do this as I have the gear from my last ride...but I have no idea how to wire it to the battery, or where to ground the amp...or about running the signal from the headunit to the amp...or blah blah blah...
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 9, 8:46pm - #268648 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Its easy. If a colored blind guy like me can learn to wire a multiple amp system, anyone can do it. thumbsup

Negative is the negative side of the battery & everything metal bolted to the frame of the car. Positive runs everything. You can use a 12V lightbulb to test the positive & make sure it does what you want. You can run direct from the battery or through the ignition so the deck turns off and on with the key. The amps are high current, so you run a thick positive wire to the trunk to the amp & then hook the gound of the amp to the frame of the car. The remote wire which the deck uses to tell the amp to turn on & off is your switch. Its all quite simple really, just a matter of doing it. thumbsup
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
AZZKIKR
SHO - NUFF
AZZKIKR Sep 9, 8:50pm - #268649 

SHO - NUFF
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
ATL GA
yeah, I know the + and - end of the damn battery...but how do I affix the wires to the terminals???? I haven't seen o-ring terminals big enough to fit around battery posts...this is the part that confuses me...how do I actually affix the wiring to the battery?/??
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
AZZKIKR
SHO - NUFF
AZZKIKR Sep 9, 8:51pm - #268650 

SHO - NUFF
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
ATL GA
I mean, I know I can go and pick up one of those amp wiring kits...and the positive wirre will have the inline fuse and everything...that's not the problem...and oh yeah...I still have the factory head unit in my celica...I have the amps, and subs from my last ride...but no idea on how to set it up with this car
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Brian63
Member
Brian63 Sep 9, 9:25pm - #268651 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Macomb IL
Wireing up a stereo is easy. Mostly color coordinated and a bunch of positives and negitives.
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,672
ragingpaseo
Specialist
ragingpaseo Sep 9, 9:27pm - #268652 
2003 blue Toyota Celica
Specialist
2003 Toyota Celica

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,672
towson, md
Originally Posted by AZZKIKR
I mean, I know I can go and pick up one of those amp wiring kits...and the positive wirre will have the inline fuse and everything...that's not the problem...and oh yeah...I still have the factory head unit in my celica...I have the amps, and subs from my last ride...but no idea on how to set it up with this car

dude, i'll help ya when i go down to atlanta next month...
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
AZZKIKR
SHO - NUFF
AZZKIKR Sep 9, 10:25pm - #268653 

SHO - NUFF
2003 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,373
ATL GA
hell yeah...just pm me and we'll get together..if you have anything you need help installing we can do that too...
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 10, 12:53am - #268654 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Yah, I bought a new terminal for the battery. It has easier hookups over stock. If you buy a proper terminal from a stereo joint it will hold your fuse.
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
johnsm
Member
johnsm Sep 11, 6:09am - #268655 

Member
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
WA, Seattle
F0k i think ill take it to cartoys they charge about $90 to run all wires.
Should i change stock speaker wires?

[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 11, 5:18pm - #268656 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Originally Posted by johnsm
F0k i think ill take it to cartoys they charge about $90 to run all wires.
Should i change stock speaker wires?


No, they are plenty thick enough.

Do it yourself, learn something. thumbsup
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 760
csheriff
Senior Member
csheriff Sep 12, 1:14am - #268657 
2002 Red Toyota Celica
Senior Member
2002 Toyota Celica

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 760
Wyoming
you dont have to drill a hole in the firewall. ive got a 4 gauge wire plus a few other wires goin through and i didnt drill. cant think were exactly i ran them through but its on the drivers side.

[Linked Image]
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Sep 12, 5:27am - #268658 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Originally Posted by csheriff
you dont have to drill a hole in the firewall. ive got a 4 gauge wire plus a few other wires goin through and i didnt drill. cant think were exactly i ran them through but its on the drivers side.


The driver's side has a rubber grommet that the shift linkage, throttle linkage & various other cables go through. You can run it through there, but then you are going to have to get it to the hatch. This can be pretty difficult depending on how well you want to hide it. Don't run it along side your pre-amp outputs, it wil cause interference. I found it easier to go under the car.
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 233
devilinacelica
Member
devilinacelica Sep 13, 2:10pm - #268659 
2000 Black Toyota Celica GT
Member
2000 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 233
Nj
i just ran the wires and hooked up my amp, radio and TV with no prior Audio knowledge. Was a piece of cake. I cant even justify paying anyone to do it.

[Linked Image]
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Brian63
Member
Brian63 Sep 13, 6:00pm - #268660 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Macomb IL
Originally Posted by csheriff
you dont have to drill a hole in the firewall. ive got a 4 gauge wire plus a few other wires goin through and i didnt drill. cant think were exactly i ran them through but its on the drivers side.


So in other words you didn't run the wire.
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Brian63
Member
Brian63 Sep 13, 7:23pm - #268662 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 338
Macomb IL
A lot of cars do have the rubber cork.
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
mrrovy805
Member
mrrovy805 Sep 13, 11:11pm - #268663 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
SoCal
on the passenger side theres a rubbing thing that you can pull out to run wires. i just did that

I wanted to slow down so i can lick his tears of saddness.
Join the conversation - Register now or Sign in to add your comment


Moderated by  isaac 

Customize Your Toyota CelicaPrivacy Policy · About · Contact
CelicaHobby.com is an independent Toyota Celica enthusiast website. CelicaHobby.com is not sponsored by or affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. in any way. The Toyota and Celica names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
© CelicaHobby.com, 2001-2016