Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,547
sbocaj55
Specialist
sbocaj55 Aug 24, 8:25pm - #258235 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,547
Pennsylvania
Help! Need to drill through firewall for head unit install?!

Alpine CDA-9813 head unit needs direct battery connection due to high current draw...so I need to drill through my firewall somewhere to get to it, right? Anyone know of a good place, and/or have any tips or tricks in doing this?
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Aug 24, 8:29pm - #258236 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DON'T! There are holes already, just fish it through.
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 85
OneShotUno
Member
OneShotUno Aug 24, 8:49pm - #258237 

Member
2000 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 85
NE Pennsylvania USA
Yes, just look under the dash on the driver side up at the firewall. Just up from the gas pedal is a grommet that other wires already run through. Just poke a hole through that and fish it through. Thats the easiest spot to work with.
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,034
Mp3Supply
Specialist
Mp3Supply Aug 24, 8:59pm - #258238 

Specialist
2002 Toyota Celica

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,034
Pennsylviana
^^ thumbsup

[Linked Image]


Work like you really dont need the money
Love like you have never been hurt before
Dance like no one is watching. . .

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,077
slidr
Specialist
slidr Aug 24, 10:09pm - #258239 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,077
Saint Louis, MO
Yeah, just go through the grommet, don't actually drill into the firewall.

Aqua Teen Hunger Force...number one in the hood, G
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,242
Lucky_317
Specialist
Lucky_317 Aug 24, 10:58pm - #258240 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,242
Fontana, CA
are you sure you cant just use any constant power source? I can't imagine it could be pulling THAT much current. I could be wrong though. It's been awhle since I did that kinda work smile

Best 60' 1.959 best 1/4 - 13.7 @ 101mph
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,242
Lucky_317
Specialist
Lucky_317 Aug 24, 11:03pm - #258241 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,242
Fontana, CA
DIN Size 1 Din
DVD Playback No
CD-R/RW Playback Yes
MP3 Playback Yes
Wireless Remote Yes
CD Text Yes
Anti-shock Memory No
Preamp Voltage 4Volts
Display Color Multi Color
Key Button Color Green
Continous Power Output 27Watts
Maximum Power 60Watts
Signal-to-Noise 105dB
Frequency Response 5-20KHz
Input/Output
Video Control No
Preamp Outputs 3 Pair
Sub Preamp Outputs Yes
AUX Input Optional
EQ Bands 5
Sound Shaping Type Bass Engine Pro
Tuner
FM Presets 12
AM Presets 6
FM Sensitivity 9.3dBf
Satellite Radio Ready XM Radio
European Tuning No

there is nothing listed on this list that would lead me to believe it could possibly pull that much.

who told you that you need a connection directly to the battery as opposed to any normal constant connection? There is a lead on the stock harness that is a dedicated constant. I reccomend you dont run any additional wire and just use that. you can easily find it with a multi meter.

Best 60' 1.959 best 1/4 - 13.7 @ 101mph
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 347
vaio23
Member
vaio23 Aug 25, 1:33am - #258242 
2003 Spectra Blue Toyota Celica
Member
2003 Toyota Celica

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 347
Baytown, TX
I did a write up on how to run 4 ga. power wire through the drivers side wheel well. Do a search for running power wire, and you should find it.
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Haulin_A_Doo
Specialist
Haulin_A_Doo Aug 25, 1:40am - #258243 
Specialist

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,016
Ontario
Originally Posted by vaio23
I did a write up on how to run 4 ga. power wire through the drivers side wheel well. Do a search for running power wire, and you should find it.


4ga! Way too big! confused
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,716
celicafourotwo
Specialist
celicafourotwo Aug 25, 2:06am - #258244 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,716
Nebraska
Originally Posted by Lucky_317
DIN Size 1 Din
DVD Playback No
CD-R/RW Playback Yes
MP3 Playback Yes
Wireless Remote Yes
CD Text Yes
Anti-shock Memory No
Preamp Voltage 4Volts
Display Color Multi Color
Key Button Color Green
Continous Power Output 27Watts
Maximum Power 60Watts
Signal-to-Noise 105dB
Frequency Response 5-20KHz
Input/Output
Video Control No
Preamp Outputs 3 Pair
Sub Preamp Outputs Yes
AUX Input Optional
EQ Bands 5
Sound Shaping Type Bass Engine Pro
Tuner
FM Presets 12
AM Presets 6
FM Sensitivity 9.3dBf
Satellite Radio Ready XM Radio
European Tuning No

there is nothing listed on this list that would lead me to believe it could possibly pull that much.

who told you that you need a connection directly to the battery as opposed to any normal constant connection? There is a lead on the stock harness that is a dedicated constant. I reccomend you dont run any additional wire and just use that. you can easily find it with a multi meter.


^^exactly..plus it don't got Anti_shock memory..kinda bad without that..but hell it doesn't even play DVD..the person that told u, you need to run the wire straight to the battery is stupid..never in all of the stereo i installed i have ever do that..
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 347
vaio23
Member
vaio23 Aug 25, 2:40am - #258245 
2003 Spectra Blue Toyota Celica
Member
2003 Toyota Celica

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 347
Baytown, TX
He is not stupid the new alpine decks require an amp wiring kit. Also I wasn't saying to use 4 ga. wire, I just said I did a write up for my 4ga, But he can run his 8 ga. in the same manner.
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,003
Sancho
SD Syndicate
Sancho Aug 25, 4:48am - #258246 

SD Syndicate
2004 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,003
San Diego, CA
Originally Posted by Haulin_A_Doo
FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DON'T! There are holes already, just fish it through.


Damn, you should have let him learn his lesson. j/k grin

[Linked Image]
2004 Toyota Celica GT
***Blue Batmobile sponsored vehicle***

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 517
verano
Boba Juice!
verano Aug 25, 6:37am - #258247 

Boba Juice!
2002 Toyota Celica GT

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 517
Anaheim, CA
i used to have a 9815 and on the manual it actually says that but i just used the WIRING HARNESS and it works fine and never had any problems with it...i have a gt... thumbsup
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,547
sbocaj55
Specialist
sbocaj55 Aug 25, 1:36pm - #258248 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,547
Pennsylvania
Yeah the manual as well as a warning sticker on the power wire on the harness say to connect directly to the battery or fuse terminal...But I didn't think that you HAD to...and i wasn't sure how it could be bad if i didn't. I was gonna try using the lead from the wire harness anyway...so now I'm definitely sure that's what i'll try first. Thanks for all the replies guys! thumbsup thumbsup

Oh and i would hope that if i would have went through the firewall that i would have noticed the factory hole and tried that...I'm not THAT stupid happywink
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,242
Lucky_317
Specialist
Lucky_317 Aug 25, 4:26pm - #258249 

Specialist
2000 Toyota Celica

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,242
Fontana, CA
whoa, 8g for a deck??? I wouldnt go bigger then 16g. and thats IF I didnt just wire it to the harness smile lol

Best 60' 1.959 best 1/4 - 13.7 @ 101mph
Join the conversation - Register now or Sign in to add your comment


Moderated by  isaac 

Customize Your Toyota CelicaPrivacy Policy · About · Contact
CelicaHobby.com is an independent Toyota Celica enthusiast website. CelicaHobby.com is not sponsored by or affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. in any way. The Toyota and Celica names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.
© CelicaHobby.com, 2001-2016