Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread

#193613 Jun 6, 11:02pm
2002 Toyota Celica
2002 Toyota Celica
Ok i have a 2002 celica gts. i have this huge problem with shifting to second gear at high rpms. I'm a really good driver usually 3rd to 5th i can shift fast as hell same with second but the gears just wont and engage. it always keeps grinding. even when it goes in gear at 2nd i still get that grinding feeling on my hand and really have to fight with it to get it in gear. i'm going to get a pfc soon, but i want to know why i'm having this problem. Please help, i'm not having fun racing. Oh yeah, i've miss shifted second gear so many times i have 47 000 km, why heaven't i've blown my engine yet like everyone else who missshifts. I also have a B&M ss, but had this problem even wih stock shifter.

2000 Toyota Celica
2000 Toyota Celica
it could be your reverse gate and you keep hitting it, or a bad syncro maybe? try slower shifts and see if that helps or dont go into such a high rpm. maybe a short shifter will help your throws.

2002 Toyota Celica
2002 Toyota Celica
I have a B&M ss, like i said i had this problem before. Sometimes even when i shift slow it still grinds. When i shift to second i'm always having to make sure i pull it heard in normal driving. Shouldn't it feel like any of the other gears. All the cars i drove did. I also like to race and plan on moding the car as soon as i fix this problem. It should be under warranty i think.

2000 Toyota Celica
2000 Toyota Celica
it might only be under the 3 year 30k one, not sure though. it could be your syncro for 2nd gear is going bad. good luck

2002 Toyota Celica
2002 Toyota Celica
Thanks, it is a posibility. I still have warranty until november 2004. I'm from canada.

2002 Toyota Celica
2002 Toyota Celica
Is there any other possibilities.

2003 Toyota Celica GT
2003 Toyota Celica GT
are you sure you are pushing the clutch far enough in? sometimes if you dont it makes that grinding feeling